Being unemployed

Let’s just put it out there: I’m unemployed.

But the weird thing is, I’ve never actually been unemployed until just now. I mean, why would I have been? I had been a student for the majority of my life and always managed to find some kind of work for the summers. And then reality hits you in the face when you – like all the others – come to realize that you have no idea what you’re doing with your life.

Ok, that sounds a bit over-dramatic – for some people. I know myself as a person. I know what I like, what I dislike. I know what kind of jobs I have enjoyed doing, and which ones I have not. I have work experience and 5 years of university studies under my belt. But that doesn’t mean I know what I want to do with all of that baggage.

As soon as I got laid off from my previous job – did I mention it was a full time position with benefits? – I had to begin job hunting. I decided to start with a simple google search for job openings in my area. Of course, numerous job bank websites pop up in the results and you have the debate as to whether or not you want to create a profile on every single one of them. Well, that’s pretty much what I ended up doing. But you know what sucks? There’s still not that much out there.

I will admit that I don’t live in a really big city (population of 60 000) so that might be one of the reasons that job opportunities are limited. But have you ever noticed that every single job posting requires years of experience? How in the hell am I supposed to get a decent paying job when all I have is the experience of two summers as a student employee? Luckily, I am somewhat optimistic and I apply for jobs regardless of my lack of experience. Sometimes, it works out; and sometimes it doesn’t.

Here’s the thing though. I keep thinking about the fact that this is the first time I’ve ever been unemployed, as a non-student adult, and I wonder if there is an advantage to this. I currently don’t have anything tying me down. I can travel, I can write music, I can spend my time doing whatever it is I want to be doing. But on the other hand, the lack of routine stresses me out. I don’t know what to do with myself. How do people make the time go by? I’m still trying to figure that one out.

Those are pretty much my thoughts on unemployment, or at least, my current state of unemployment. I try to take it one day at a time, give myself objectives and daily goals so I don’t go crazy thinking about all the nothingness that lies ahead, and I make plans that I can get excited about.

Life goes on, and I know that good will come from this.

Leave a Reply

