Travel plans

For those of you who weren’t aware, my roommate Julie and I are doing a cross-country road trip, from Nova Scotia to Alberta, on November 2nd 2015. And given the fact that I have so much free time lately, I’ve decided to do a lot of planning and preparation for this trip. So far, I’ve done research on how and what to pack, I looked up which apps are most useful for road trips, and I found a bunch of games and activities we can play to keep busy when the driving seems unbearable. But my favourite part of trip planning is by far making an itinerary.

We changed it up a few times, and we will probably continue to do so in the coming weeks, but I feel like we’ve got a good itinerary done up for the drive up to Alberta. Here’s a quick list of spots we’ll be visiting during the 5 day trek:

  • Halifax, Nova Scotia
  • Edmundston, New Brunswick
  • Montreal, Québec
  • Toronto, Ontatio
  • Windsor, Ontario
  • Detroit, Michigan
  • Chicago, Illinois
  • Minneapolis, Minnesota
  • Fargo, North Dakota
  • Winnipeg, Manitoba
  • Red Jacket, Saskatchewan
  • Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
  • Edmonton, Alberta (Dropping Julie off here)
  • Grande Prairie, Alberta

Right off the bat, I’d just like to say that if you are located in or nearby any of these regions and that you would like to meet up, please contact us ASAP and we’ll definitely fit you into our itinerary! I’ve contacted a few friends already about finding some places to stay along the way, but if you or anyone you know would be able to accommodate us for a night, please feel free to let us now as well.

As eager as I am, I haven’t started packing quite yet – but I won’t deny that it has crossed my mind more than once while looking through my closet. What I have started doing is gathering up some supplies that we will need for such a long trip. Today’s goal was to get most of the car essentials, such as a gas canister, oil, anti-freeze, windshield washer fluid, lysol wipes, first aid kit, emergency kit, etc. In a week and a half, I’ll be heading to my dad’s to get my inspection done on the car (let’s hope to God everything goes well and that I don’t need to replace some very expensive parts), get the cracked windshield replaced, get my oil changed, and get my winter tires installed. Luckily, my uncle will be doing that work so I don’t have to worry about getting ripped off like in previous years – GM, I’m looking at you.

Aside from getting all the essential items for the car, I also made a packing list for all the stuff we might need during our travels/that I will need during my time in Alberta. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Packing list

If anyone has suggestions on what else to bring or if anyone notices that I’ve forgotten something important, please feel free to let me know in the comment section below.

That’s pretty much where I’m at right now with the whole planning situation. I’ve got another 36 days to get everything organized and then we hit the road!

Leave a Reply

