November in a nutshell

Some of you might be wondering, “If you’re still unemployed, what the heck have you been doing the whole month of November?” And rightfully so, I was asking myself the same question.

The month started off with a bang: I drove across the country to spend some time with my boyfriend in Alberta. I was thrilled to be accompanied by two wonderful companions, my roommate Julie and my brother bear Remi. Together, we conquered 5000kms, 60 hours, 5 days, and 7 provinces. We laughed, we fought, we slept, and we wandered. It was a great experience and I certainly wouldn’t trade it for anything in the world.

Next up was the honeymoon phase take two. Seeing your boyfriend for the first time since you officially became a couple two months ago was definitely a very exciting moment. We’ve basically been spending every waking moment together when he’s not at work. He does, however, work up to 12 hours per day, so it’s not like we’re spending 24/7 together, but we’re making the most out of the time we have with each other. So far, we’ve gone out for Wing Night where I met a bunch of his good friends, all of whom are super awesome – especially you, Spicy Bean! We also went to a few parties, made homemade sushi with a friend, participated in a Chili Cook-Off and showed everyone our Salsa moves, finished the TV show we had been waiting to watch together, played Minecraft, and so much more.

The moments that were really special though were all those pertaining to Christmas! How I love Christmas! Firstly, we went to the Festival of Lights in town where we got to hear some local music, see some amazing young dancers, and eat some holiday cookies. Of course, the main attraction were all the incredibly decorated trees, which we took plenty of time to admire. But the day wouldn’t have been complete without going for a horse sleigh ride!! It was so great to just spend the day together and doing cute couple-y stuff! Unfortunately, Max didn’t let me get my face painted, but we were running tight on time so I suppose it was alright. BUT I’M DOING IT NEXT TIME!

Our next cute outing was to go cut down our very first Christmas Tree!! I basically went over this in detail in a previous post, but it needs to be mentioned again because it was SUCH a great day! We spent half the day trying to find a saw, which we didn’t end up getting, and drove out into the woods to find a suitable Christmas Tree for the house in Grande Prairie. We walked for a little bit and kept eyeing different trees, but none were quite up to par. I sighed and figured I would settle for a short tree with a few scraggly branches. But I didn’t have to. Would you like to know why? Well I’m gonna tell you anyway: because I have the best boyfriend in the world who kept looking and looking until we found the perfect tree! Ok, sure, turns out it was right next to the tree I said I could settle for, but we still looked far and wide to find it!

When we got home later that day, we spent the rest of the evening cooking supper together and decorating the tree. My heart is filled with joy every time I play it over in my head. All of these memories, really. I might be far away from home and from my family and friends, but my life is filled with amazing people everywhere I go and I’m overwhelmed with happiness when I think about how grateful I am to be where I am today.

It doesn’t get much better than that.

3 Replies to “November in a nutshell”

Leave a Reply

