Christmas Preparations

Tis the season, and Christmas is just around the corner! Part of me is incredibly excited to go home and see family and friends in New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, but part of me is dreading the long drive during Canadian Winter. Hopefully El Nino will do its part and winter won’t be quite as bad as other years.
I’m actually quite surprised about the weather here in Grande Prairie, AB. It’s only snowed once since I got here a month ago and the temperature has been really nice, even above 0 most days this week. I suppose it’s probably a good thing since it’s giving me the chance to get used to the brutal cold that is to come. On the bright side, it seems to me an area that has less snowfall than the East Coast. Moncton was already hit with a large snowfall just the other night. But enough about the weather; let’s talk about Christmas!

This year, I have decided that every gift I am giving will be handmade. I can’t go into much more detail about that, or else it would ruin the surprise. But it’s been really great to work on so many projects these past few weeks, knowing that I get to wrap them all up and give them to my family and friends. I have a little more than half of the gifts done, just a few more to go. And I am just now clicking in that I have about 3 weeks left to finish everything. Worst part: I still have no idea what to make/get for my boyfriend. All ideas and suggestions are welcome!

What I did accomplish though was to make homemade Christmas cards! If anybody would like one, please feel free to send me a message with you address and it should arrive within 3-5 business days!

Homemade Christmas Card

I also started decorating this man-filled house. Seriously, there are absolutely zero decorative things in this abode. I bought a few things to get into the Christmas spirit, most of which is just in our bedroom. I also grabbed some branches in the woods when we went to cut down the Christmas Tree and told myself I would make a wreathe or some kind of decor with it. Progress on said project: haven’t even taken it out of the garage yet.

But it is beginning to look a lot like Christmas, and I love curling up on the couch at night with the Christmas Tree lit up, cuddling with my other half. Life is pretty great right now. 🙂

Leave a Reply

