I want to travel

I can’t decide what to do!! I see everyone posting these amazing pictures on Facebook and I long for adventure. I want to travel, SO badly. The only thing is that if I do travel right now, I’m going to be doing it alone. And that worries me. I’ve actually never travelled alone, not even once in my life. I mean, I’ve driven down to visit my mom or dad by myself, but that’s a maximum drive of 5 hours. I’ve never really experienced solo travelling, and although I’ve always wanted to try it, part of me is scared. What if something goes wrong? What if I’m unsafe? What if I don’t know what to do? But I guess it doesn’t really matter, because lots of people have done it, and everybody figures it out.

Another reason I’m hesitant is, of course, for financial reasons. I want to go out and travel, but that costs a lot of money. And it costs even more when you’re not splitting travel costs with someone else. But I feel like that’s not a good enough reason to stop me from travelling. Fact: I have tons of money. Yes, I do owe more than triple that amount to the government, but for now, I don’t have any payments and that money is just sitting in the bank. Why wouldn’t I use it for doing something I love?

Argh! It’s the fear. That’s the reason. It keeps creeping up and reminding me of everything that could go wrong. So far, I haven’t been able to convince myself to rise above that fear and to be excited about possible travel plans. Maybe I need to start talking about it more, doing some more research, make tentative plans!

I suppose I should probably let you all know where I was/am thinking of going.

Ever since I can remember, I’ve dreamed of visiting the most northern parts of Canada. More specifically, Yukon and the Northwest Territories. Even more so, I’ve ALWAYS wanted to travel to Alaska! Seriously. A few years ago, my mom actually asked my brother and me where we would like to go in the USA because she had a bunch of air miles saved up and my immediate answer was “ALASKA!” Of course, she said no. She’s more of a warm weather kind of woman.

In all the years that I’ve wanted to go up North, I’ve never actually made any real plans to visit any of these places, mainly because it costs a lot of money to get there from the East Coast. But look at me now! I’m in Northern Alberta, at the complete opposite end of Canada. I am SO close to all these places I’ve always wanted to see! Since I was unemployed for quite a while, I haven’t travelled at all since I got here a few months ago. And now I only have 4 precious weeks left and I’m here thinking “Oh my God, I have to go everywhere!” But I can’t. I can’t do it all. So I have to be conscious of that if/when I start making travel plans.

As much as I want to visit lots of places up North and meet loads of new people, it will still be my first time travelling alone. And so I think the best idea would be to travel somewhere where I know at least one person. That way, I figure, I might not feel as lost or helpless if things go wrong, because at least there is some familiarity where I’m going. I’ll also get to connect with old friends I haven’t seen in a really long time, and that’s something I really love doing. Part of me feels like it’s a wimpy thing to do, travelling to where I already know someone, but part of me knows that I need to build my confidence to travel alone. And if I can feel comfortable – and excited! – about visiting someone I know, then it’s a step in the right directions. And God knows, maybe I’ll end up falling in love with travelling alone!
What are your thoughts and idea about travelling solo? Do you have any tips or advice you could give me? If so, feel free to leave a comment below!

3 Replies to “I want to travel”

  1. I felt the exact same way before my first solo backpacking trip Carmen! I kept thinking that I should be more responsible with how I spent my money, that I might regret quitting my job to travel, or that I would be useless and get lost or something. But it’s only terrifying until you step off the plane.
    Stepping out of your comfort zone is the best thing you’ll ever do. When you travel alone, and you don’t have another person to rely on, you’ll find that you’re actually incredibly capable. You’ll meet the best people you’ve ever met in hostels and on the road. You’ll figure out the best ways to travel between different places. You’ll also find that, other than plane tickets, solo traveling doesn’t need to be expensive.
    I travelled alone for 3 months on that first trip, and the hardest part was actually getting alone time. I met so many people and we all shared the same love of travel. I missed a couple trains, ran into language barriers, and still occasionally got super lost. But there was always someone around willing to help me out, and there was always another train or bus or way to fix my problem:)
    Solo traveling is only scary until you do it. I think now, I’d actually be a bit sad to travel with other people:p
    As for money, you’re a capable 20 something year old. You can always make more:) Also, they’ve done studies to back me up. Buying stuff won’t make you happy, but spending money on experiences will (or something like that)

    Give me a shout if you want any advice on money saving or even a reference for your couchsurfing profile:)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you so much for your comment Carolyn! The biggest challenge is definitely stepping out of my comfort zone! And I agree about someone always being there to help, at least from my experience travelling with others, it’s been the same case. I might be sending you a message soon, it’s always good to get some more money saving tips! 🙂

    Like

  3. I couldn’t agree more with Carolyn. One thing to remember is it’s a lot easier to swallow regret when its for the things you have done rather than the things you never did… and i don’t know many people that regret going traveling, even if it is alone!

    If your intent at the moment is to travel the within the USA, Canada and Alaska then i think that is an excellent starting point for a solo traveler as there will be little language barriers! You will find navigating yourself around a little easier and this will give you the confidence you need for those trips a little further afield in the future. Do your research on some hostels, these are a great starting point for meeting new people. I second what Carolyn said that you will likely find trying to get some alone time the difficult part only a few days into any trip!

    Don’t worry about money, I owe a small fortune to the government like yourself but i have the rest of my life to pay it off.

    Do it now, while you’re young and able! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

