Growth

I did a thing today.

Not only did I go to to the gym, but I did a thing – a good thing.

I often find myself thinking about things I should say or do, but then I don’t, because I know what kind of person I am, and I need to start accepting that even though I wish I were the kind of person who said or did certain things, that that’s not a part of who I am – at least not right now. But today was different.

Today, after my gym class at the YMCA, I thought about the young woman in the back row who was struggling to keep up but who stayed for the entirety of the class anyway. I thought to myself, ‘This must be her first time.’ I also thought about my first time, and how much harder it must be for her because I had had a support system to take me to my first class, to explain how things work, and the class I took was a lot less complicated than the one she just walked into. I wanted to urge myself to go up to her and talk to her, reassure her, compliment her on her efforts. But I know myself, and I’m not like that. Except out of nowhere, I suddenly was.

I went to the storage room when class was done to put all my things away. This class requires a lot of equipment so I had to walk there twice. On my second entry into the storage room, I saw her there putting some things away, and before I could even think, my mouth opened.

“Hey, was it your first time attending this class?” I asked

“Yeah…” she said timidly.

“I know how complicated it can seem the first time. But you did a really great job!”

She smiled and thanked me.

I don’t know why, but that made me feel so good about myself, and proud that I had actually been able to step out of my comfort zone and talk to/give encouragement to someone I didn’t even know.

To some people it might not seem like much, but that is the beginning of – or rather the continuation – of growth.

Leave a Reply

