I applied for a new job today.

I don’t think I’ll actually get it, but I applied anyway. I applied for a number of different reasons, but the main one being that my boss told me I should.

OK, that sounds weird. Why would my current boss tell me to apply for a new job? Well, it’s pretty simple – I am a casual employee going nowhere fast and the only way I can move up in the company is by getting a job in the union. Ugh.

So now you’re probably curious as to what job I applied for. Well, I won’t ruin the surprise, but I can tell you that I’m actually somewhat qualified, and it’s an internal job posting so it’s not open to non-company employees.

I definitely thought long and hard before applying to this job, even though I am well aware that applying for a job doesn’t mean accepting a job. The first thing that came to mind was, “Why would I want to leave a job I love?” And as hard as that is to do, I know that I can’t stay here forever. I need to acquire new skills and new experience somewhere else, so that I can hopefully someday come back and get a permanent job doing something I love even more.

Who knows if that will actually end up being at the zoo, but I kind of have my fingers crossed. I love everything about where I work right now. I love where it’s located, I love the people I work with, and I love my non-human workers just as much! I love the routine, and I love the spontaneity of everyday problems. I love my office and all of tasks. And I am super fine with admitting that I love being surrounded by toys and stuffed animals every single day. Oh, and organizing. Duh.

But deep down, I know that all of that is not enough. All of that won’t bring me anywhere, because this job is at a standstill. It’s a casual position, 9.5 months of the year, 3 of which are not full time. No benefits, no sick days, no vacation. And of course, no weekends off, and no overtime pay. Basically, it whomps.

It sucks to think about leaving – which is not necessarily the case – but I know it’s the right time to be doing it.

So today, I filled out a huge form – half of which I did not even understand – and I sent off my cover letter and resume to apply for a new job. I have no idea if I’ll even get a call for an interview, but I did it anyway. I took a shot. And I guess we’ll just have to wait and see what happens next.

Leave a Reply

